1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Administrators
  4. Managing Users
  5. User Types

User Types

Depending on their job, function and responsibilities, each user may be assigned a specific role. Select the role for each user from the drop down menu.

Admin: User can do any action on the site, including editing users and lists. It is recommended that there be only one admin per instance. We recommend that Administrators have two users: Administrator and Standard User with permissions. This will help safeguard the system from inadvertent deletion of Records.

Standard: Role based access control. Roles are additive (see explanation below)

Limited: User is limited to specific permissions, on specific Record. Useful for volunteers, temp staff, interns, and such). This feature is available for Tier 2 users and above.

Partner: User may only view the Navigator Portal and the clients (referrals) they have submitted there. This user will be available if your instance includes the Navigator Portal feature (Tier 2 users and above).

Standard User Roles:

Can Refer: User is allowed to submit Referrals to the Navigator Portal. This role will be available if your instance includes the Navigator Portal feature (Tier 2 users and above).

Caseevent Delete: User is allowed to delete Docket Entries (Case events)

Checker: User can see Navigator Portal Referrals when they are first submitted. They may choose whether referral is promoted to review or declined because of a conflict. This role will be available if your instance includes the Navigator Portal feature (Pro and Advanced subscribers).

Complete: User can check tasks and appointments as Complete.

Copy Party: User can use the Merge / Copy Party tool to copy a party, leaving the original intact.

Create: User can create Records, Cases, Parties, Attachments and Docket Entries (Case events)

Delete: User can permanently delete Records, Cases, Parties, Attachments and Docket Entries (Case events). USE WITH CAUTION

Invoicing: User has access to invoicing features, once they are configured by an admin. This option is only available if the integration with Invoiced.com is enabled. Available for Pro and Advanced subscribers.

Merge Party: User can use the Merge / Copy Party tool to merge two parties, deleting the original. USE WITH CAUTION

Reporting: Allows a user to run reports across records in your database.

Reviewer: User can see Navigator Portal Referrals that have passed conflict check. They may accept them and convert to records, decline them, or revert them to the submitter for more information. They may also engage in threaded comment dialog with submitter as necessary. This role will be available if your instance includes the Navigator Portal feature (Pro and Advanced subscribers).

View Balances: Allows user to view a customer’s Invoiced.com balance from within LawLab, but not create new Invoices.This option is only available if the integration with Invoiced.com is enabled. Available for Pro and Advanced subscribers.

Update: User can update already existing Records, Cases, Parties, Attachments and Docket Entries (Case events).

A standard user can have up to 13 permissions assigned.

Limited User Roles (Pro and Advanced subscribers)

These roles will apply per record, which the administrator can assign to the Limited User.

To assign records to a limited user, click on the Limited User icon:

It will display an additional menu where you can assign cases to your Limited User. Once you assign a case, the zero will change to 1 (or any number depending on the amount of cases assigned to this user).

Allow read: User can view or search for the Record or its Cases, Parties, Attachments or Docket Entries (Case events)

Allow update: User can update the Record or its Cases, Parties, Attachments or Docket Entries (Case events)

Allow check done: User can check tasks as Complete

Allow create: User can create Cases, Parties, Attachments or Docket Entries (Case events) for the Record

Allow delete: User can delete Cases, Parties, Attachments or Docket Entries (Case events) for the Record, or the Record itself USE WITH CAUTION

Partner User (Pro and Advanced subscribers)

This role is meant to be used in conjunction with the Navigator Portal. A Partner will be a limited user by default.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No 1

How can we help?